Four a Month 1 – Elizabethan/Renaissance

Over the last couple of days, I’ve been trying to decide what my theme will be for the first month of the Flickr Four a Month challenge. My birthday is in January, so being the narcissist that I am, I knew whatever I made had to have garnets. I was going to continue on my art nouveau kick, but you can’t wear the same prom dress two proms in a row (I wouldn’t really know about that, actually. I never went to prom. Not for me.). So I searched ‘January’ online to get some ideas. I found out that January is National Soup Month in the U.S., but I’m not all that interested in soup. However, several interesting things have happened in January. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr.’s birthday is in January. In fact, it’s the 15th, same as mine! Ellis Island was opened in 1892, and President Lincoln issued the Emancipation Proclamation in 1863. All very inspiring events, but nothing was grabbing me. And then, I found it. In January 1559, Elizabeth Tudor was crowned Queen of England.

I have a fascination with British royalty from the days of old, and Elizabeth Tudor in particular. So I’ve decided this is the direction I’m going to take for the month. I have several ideas that should last me for four pieces. Because my predilection is toward industrial themes, I’ll throw a little bit of that in there too, so don’t expect anything too historically accurate. I’m going to try and blog a bit more this year, because I flat out sucked at it last year.

Here’s what I’m starting with.

One partially used sheet of sterling silver. Original dimensions, 2×6 inches. There should be enough here to last most of the month… I hope.

~Jane

Leave a Reply

